This Year’s Five Must-Read Privacy Papers: The Future of Privacy Forum Announces Recipients of Annual Privacy Award



November 16, 2016
Contact: Melanie Bates, Director of Communications, [email protected]

This Year’s Five Must-Read Privacy Papers: The Future of Privacy Forum Announces Recipients of Annual Privacy Award

Washington, DC – Today, the Future of Privacy Forum (FPF) announced the winners of the 7th Annual Privacy Papers for Policymakers (PPPM) Award. The PPPM Award recognizes leading privacy scholarship that is relevant to policymakers in the United States Congress, at U.S. federal agencies, and for data protection authorities abroad. The winners of the 2017 PPPM Award are:

  • Law Enforcement Access to Data Across Borders: The Evolving Security and Human Rights Issues, by Jennifer Daskal, Associate Professor, American University Washington College of Law
  • Accountable Algorithms, by Joshua A. Kroll, Engineer, Security Team, Cloudflare; Joanna Huey, Princeton University; Solon Barocas, Princeton University; Edward W. Felten, Princeton University; Joel R. Reidenberg, Stanley D. and Nikki Waxberg Chair in Law, Fordham University School of Law; David G. Robinson, Upturn; and Harlan Yu, Upturn
  • The Privacy Policymaking of State Attorneys General, by Danielle Citron, Professor of Law, University of Maryland Carey School of Law
  • Privacy of Public Data, by Kirsten Martin, Assistant Professor of Strategic Management & Public Policy, George Washington University School of Business; and Helen Nissenbaum, Professor, Media, Culture, and Communication & Computer Science, New York University
  • Risk and Anxiety: A Theory of Data Breach Harms, by Daniel Solove, Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School; and Danielle Citron, Professor of Law, University of Maryland Carey School of Law

From a record number of nominated privacy-related papers published in the last year, these five were selected by Finalist Judges, after having been first evaluated highly by a diverse team of academics, advocates, and industry privacy professionals from FPF’s Advisory Board. Finalist Judges and Reviewers agreed that these papers demonstrate a thoughtful analysis of emerging issues and propose new means of analysis that can lead to real-world policy impact, making them “must-read” privacy scholarship for policymakers.

The Finalist Judges also selected four papers for Honorable Mention: Biometric Cyberintelligence, by Professor Margaret Hu, Washington & Lee University School of Law; Ambiguity in Privacy Policies and the Impact of Regulation, by Professors Joel Reidenberg, Fordham University School of Law, Jaspreet Bhatia, Carnegie Mellon University, Travis Breaux, Carnegie Mellon University, and Thomas B. Norton, Fordham University; Data Driven Discrimination at Work, by Professor Pauline Kim, Washington University in Saint Louis School of Law; and Friending the Privacy Regulators, by Professor William McGeveran, University of Minnesota Law School.

“Policymakers are grappling with privacy issues that are more sophisticated than ever, and academic scholarship can provide a much-needed source of innovative thinking and new ideas,” said Jules Polonetsky, FPF’s CEO. “Through this Award, we aim to bring the very best of academic privacy scholarship to the people who are crafting real-world policy. These are the ‘must-reads’ for any well-informed policymaker who wants to make a difference in privacy.”

The winning authors have been invited to join FPF and Honorary Co-Hosts Senator Edward J. Markey and Congressman Joe Barton and Congresswoman Diana DeGette, Co-Chairs of the Congressional Bi-Partisan Privacy Caucus, to present their work at the U.S. Senate with policymakers, academics, and industry privacy professionals. This annual event will be held on January 11, 2017, the day before the Federal Trade Commission’s PrivacyCon. FPF will subsequently publish a printed digest of summaries of the winning papers for distribution to policymakers, privacy professionals, and the public.

This year’s PPPM will also feature FPF’s formal launch of the Privacy Research and Data Responsibility Research Coordination Network, an effort supported by the National Science Foundation to produce a community of academic researchers and industry practitioners to address research priorities in the National Privacy Research Strategy.

PPPM is free, open to the general public, and widely attended. To RSVP, please visit



The Future of Privacy Forum (FPF) is a non-profit organization that serves as a catalyst for privacy leadership and scholarship, advancing principled data practices in support of emerging technologies. Learn more about FPF by visiting