This Year’s Must-Read Privacy Papers: FPF Announces Recipients of Annual Award


Today, FPF announced the winners of the 10th Annual Privacy Papers for Policymakers (PPPM) Award. This Award recognizes leading privacy scholarship that is relevant to policymakers in the United States Congress, at U.S. federal agencies and for data protection authorities abroad. The winners of the 2019 PPPM Award are: 

These five papers were selected by a diverse team of academics, advocates, and industry privacy professionals from FPF’s Advisory Board. These papers demonstrate a thoughtful analysis of emerging issues and propose new means of analysis that can lead to real-world policy impact, making them “must-read” privacy scholarship for policymakers.

Three papers were selected for Honorable Mention: 

For the fourth year in a row, FPF also granted a Student Paper Award. To be considered, student work must meet similar guidelines as those set for the general Call for Nominations. The Student Paper Award is presented to:

The winning authors have been invited to join FPF and Honorary Co-Hosts Senator Ed Markey and Congresswoman Diana DeGette to present their work at the U.S. Senate with policymakers, academics, and industry privacy professionals. 

Held at the Hart Senate Office Building on February 6, 2020, this annual event will feature a keynote speech by FTC Commissioner Christine S. Wilson. FPF will subsequently publish a printed digest of summaries of the winning papers for distribution to policymakers, privacy professionals, and the public.

This event is free, open to the general public, and widely attended. For more information or to RSVP, please visit this page. This event is supported by a National Science Foundation grant. Any opinions, findings and conclusions or recommendations expressed in these papers are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.