PEPR 2021 Conference on Privacy Engineering Practice and Respect – Program

Home | Attend | Participate | Sponsor | Program

Pepr 2021 (1)

DAY 1 – Thursday, June 10

8:00am – 8:10am PDT | 11:00am – 11:10am EDT | Opening Remarks

8:10am – 9:25am PDT | 11:10am – 12:25pm EDT | Session 1 – Privacy at Scale

Privacy for Infrastructure: Addressing Privacy at the Root

Cryptographic Privacy-Enhancing Technologies in the Post-Schrems II Era

Detecting and Handling Sensitive Information in a Data Platform

9:25am – 9:45am PDT | 12:25pm – 12:45pm EDT | Break

9:45am – 11:00am PDT | 12:45pm – 2:00pm EDT | Session 2 – Consent

Design Meaningful Privacy Choice Experiences for Users

Engineering a Consent Sandbox to Eliminate Annoying Pop-Ups and Dark Patterns

End-to-End Consent in Web Applications: EU Legal Requirements and Means to Verify Compliance

11:00am – 11:40am PDT | 2:00pm – 2:40pm EDT | Networking Break

11:40am – 12:55pm PDT | 2:40pm – 3:55pm EDT | Session 3 – Data Deletion

Deletion Framework: How Facebook Upholds its Commitments Towards Data Deletion

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up Data

“A Little Respect” – Erasure of Personal Data in Distributed Systems

12:55pm – 1:15pm PDT | 3:55pm – 4:15pm EDT | Break

1:15pm – 2:30pm PDT | 4:15pm – 5:30pm EDT | Session 4 – Design

Illustrating Privacy Engineering Concepts with Potty Talk

Privacy UX At Scale: Foundational “truths” and design guidelines

Is it Time Our Devices Showed a Little Respect? Informing the Design of Respectful Intelligent Systems

Day 2 – Friday, June 11

8:00am – 8:10am PDT | 11:00am – 11:10am EDT | Opening Remarks

8:10am – 9:25am PDT | 11:10am – 12:25pm EDT | Session 5 – Healthcare Privacy

Towards More Informed Consent for Healthcare Data Sharing

Building a Scalable, Machine Learning-Driven Anonymization Pipeline for Clinical Trial Transparency

Building for Digital Health

9:25am – 9:45am PDT | 12:25pm – 12:45pm EDT | Break

9:45am – 10:45am PDT | 12:45pm – 1:45pm EDT | Session 6 – Panel Discussion (TBA)

10:45am – 11:25am PDT | 1:45pm – 2:25pm EDT | Networking Break

11:25am – 12:40pm PDT | 2:25pm – 3:40pm EDT | Session 7 – Architectures for Privacy

No Threat, No Sweat: Privacy Threat Modeling in Practice – a Machine Learning Use Case

Lightweight Purpose Justification Service for Embedded Accountability

Deleting the undeletable

12:40pm – 1:00pm PDT | 3:40pm – 4:00pm EDT | Break

1:00pm – 2:15pm PDT | 4:00pm – 5:15pm EDT | Session 8 – Privacy for Vulnerable Populations

Considering Privacy when Communicating with Incarcerated People

Security through Care: Abusability Insights from Tech Abuse Advocates

If at First You Don’t Succeed: Norway’s Two Contact-Tracing Apps

2:15pm – 2:45pm PDT | 5:15pm – 5:45pm EDT | Social Event